Shine-A-Light

By gblrps

Glasgow Tramway

I decided to visit the exhibition at the Tramway by artist Lara Favaretto who uses sculpture, photography and film to create large artworks that have a sense of magic, fantasy and movement. I thought the massive space at the Tramway would be a good environment for her large scale creations.

I'm not sure about this one. It features a number of groups of coloured car wash brushes/mechanisms. Each brush is regulated by a timer and turns on an axis at different speeds and intervals, lashing and thus gradually eroding the sheets of metal to which they are fixed. There are also some blocks made of confetti and I believe the actions of the brushes mean that by the end of the exhibition in mid December a whole bunch of new confetti will be created.

Anyway I was allowed to take photographs but had to sign a form which precludes me from using the images other than for personal and private use. When I thought about it I realized that prevents me from using it on Blip. Strange, as you would have thought that a little bit of extra publicity would have done no harm at all to the exhibition.

Fortunately I did take one more picture which wasn't so good but which will have to do for today. It was taken upstairs in the venue just outside the office where my attention was again taken by the open space as well as the light coming from the small window and the highly polished reflective floor. The framed photographs are by Kenny Bean who has a nice exhibition on Dance gravity.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.