Who am I to disagree?

By longshanks

Lothian Birding

First stop the sports centre car park in Musselburgh for the Waxwings - they wirnae there. Next stop Fisherrow harbour for some good sea watching including a distant Surf Scoter. Back to the car and there's a sighting of the Waxwings at the sports centre car park in Musselburgh, okay, let's try again - as can be seen from today's photo it was second time lucky and they posed nicely in the sun, thank you. Finally along to Prestonpans for the Black Guillemot, I didn't find it, nor did the guy who'd been there for two hours before me, but close views of Redshank and a nice flyby by a pair of Red-breasted Mergansers finished off a fine day with another six added to the Year List: Red-breasted Merganser, Slavonian Grebe, Magpie, Waxwing, Long-tailed Duck & Surf Scoter.

As I was departing Prestonpans a guy asked me "Any sign of the Tystie?". Been a while since I'd heard of the Black Guillemot being referred to by its dialect name.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.