Andy's Photo Journal

By andmoff

Y12

In 1993 I found myself in Tennessee as one does. I was visiting a friend from the town of Oakridge. It soon became apparent that this was no ordinary town. the town was pretty much built from scratch with one purpose, to enrich uranium for the Manhattan Project. 22,000 people worked on the site and no more than a select few actually knew what they were doing. After the war as the cold war developed Y12 was at the centre of the US's nuclear weapon and uranium enrichment programme. When I was there a lot of signs declaring radioactive contamination and more than a few heavily armed marines on the gates. Being a Brit I wasn't allowed to visit!!

I bought this commemorative Coke bottle when I was there it would appear that the Coke has the same half life as the uranium (I've never put a geiger counter near it, wonder if I should?).

Wish I had blip back then, the area around there is bliptastic, Pigeon Forge, what a blip mine!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.