Particles & Waves

By EdwardFenner

Memories of childhood

Gumby caught my eye at Winners (a kind of high-end liquidation store). I had a Gumby figure just like this when I was a child. Pokey, too. Most vividly, the smell of them came to my mind and the sight of them sitting on the dashboard of my mom's red VW beetle, the sun and shadows of trees flickering across them as she sped along the sideroads with me in the back of the car. Oh, and the running boards! I used to ride those up the laneway while hanging on to the mirror - yes, outside of the car! Good times, good memories.

Batman and Superman comics were favourites but I never had action figures for them. It made me wonder, however, why Gumby and Pokey were on display. Have they made a comeback? I thought they'd disappeared from TV decades ago.

By the way, this is Blip #999! What to do for my 1,000th?

Here is a claymation short cartoon featuring Gumby, Pokey, Goo, and Prickle. My Saturday mornings were full of these kinds of things plus The Three Stooges, Laurel & Hardy, The Little Rascals, crazy sci-fi monster movies of the 50s and 60s...

"He was once a little green slab of clay.........GUMBY!!!" was part of the opening theme song for the show.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.