Fully Fuelled

I have an unhealthy distrust of all car hire companies.

Mainly because everytime I return a car to them I find that on my next credit card statement a charge from them for something.
Usually I will call my CC company and get them to charge it back to them - and thats the last I hear of it....so for my records I made sure this time that I snapped the fact that the fuel tank was full.

It also concerns me that (as with this booking) that it is just a girl at a desk in the airport terminal - there is no walkround of the car and sign-off - to me this just reeks that they'll pin some bump scratch or other "issue" with the car on me.
This years hire car has been particularly bad - a Hyundai Getz. In the UK this car would be an MOT failure, but somehow Hertz can rent this out to holiday makers.

My list of gripes included:

1) Indicator bulbs are letting through white light (minor, but still an MOT failure)
2) Wipers are ineffective at clearing water from the screen, even after my cleaning them (again minor, but still an MOT failure)
3) The clutch is on its way out....
4) Cosmetic damage to the rear doors from someone else's parking calamities.

I guess the old adage "Never be gentle with a rental" rings true with this car!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.