Probably a shot of a Jnr

By Hollowspy

I wonder where that fish could be...

Well, it arrived - today marked my 40 years on the planet as a breathing human.

And what a terrific day I've had too.

Started with a cracking breakfast with the Hollow ladies and a gift by Mrs H of a photo book with tons of my photos in. It was interspersed with memories and comments from family and friends about me that she'd collected over the last couple of weeks. It made me uncharacteristically emotional to be honest and has immediately become one of my most treasured items, overtaking that drumstick I caught from the Ned's Atomic Dustbin drummer at Reading Uni in 1991 and a macrame owl I made when I was six.

A nice day at school with my ace colleagues followed - although the present of a nasal hair trimmer and a jar of anti-wrinkle cream means they are pushing their status with me somewhat! I love 'em.

Then out in the evening for a meal at my favourite place, Wasabi Sabi - a Japanese restaurant in Sheffield that I've not been to for years. I thought sod it, and ordered the most expensive thing on the menu: a platter of sushi and sashimi treats, although I think it was meant to be shared between at least four people. However, as Mrs H doesn't eat such things and the girls are rarely adventurous, it was up to me to ensure that it was all eaten. I was quite wide-eyed when it turned up as it was served on a bamboo boat!!!!!!!! It were reyt posh.

I can honestly say that it was one of the best meals I have ever had. I wanted a nice quiet affair for my 40th, and spending it with my three ladies with great food was simply heaven. I am a lucky man and know it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.