THE KRUKENBURG RUIN

in Helmarshausen.
Piet Hein had made his exercise not early because we had slept longer than we usual do.
When he had come back, we drank espresso together. While he had been away I had cleaned the kitchen floor, a rewarding task, or a had to be done job.
Then I was ready to start on my tour. I had thought about where to go beforehand and had decided upon a walk to the Krukenburg ruin, we can see the ruin from where we live in the distance and the wide snow field at the foot of it had attracted me. Especially because the weather was so gorgeous again, Forgotten almost the dark, grey days.
First walk down the hill, traverse the town, follow the path along the Diemel river for a short distance, cross the bridge and climb the hill that leads to the ruin.
I walked along the vast snow fields, till I came upon the Krukenburg.
After taken some pictures, I walked along the apples trees path, where I spotted a lot of birds (I would have liked to identify them, but they were swift and swarmed away) eaten what was left from the apples on the ground, rotten of course, but the birds did not mind.
Along the field with the two donkeys who always, really always look so sad, although they have a nice life together.
I returned the same way as I had come. Lunch!
A bit tired I slept on the balcony in the sun. And another beautiful day went by.

My haiku:

The monks centuries ago
Lived in the castle now birds
Have there hidden homes

And the proverb:

A rolling stone gathers no moss.

Lugduni, 1550. Erasmus, Adagiorum opus.

In Surrey and Sussex there is an addition to this: 'And a sitting hen never grows fat'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.