One click at a time

By KeithKnight

January Challenge - Still Life

Day 31 of DDW's January daily challenge - Still Life

Thanks are due to micro43, whose blip today not only reminded me that this was the week during which Seville Oranges are in the shops ready to be made into real marmalade, but also as a result gave me the inspiration for my still life.

I always struggle with still life images - it's always a struggle to think of subjects and treatments, so today's consists of part of my bag of 2kg of Seville Oranges, bought from the market in Chiswick for £3. The image is a combination of 2 images, one at a slightly wider aperture to keep most of the fruit a little out of focus, and the other 1 stop smaller to get the one fruit sharp all the way across. The 2 images were then aligned in Photoshop, one converted to mono with Silver Efex, and a mask created to "pop" the top orange out.

Thanks to DDW for another month of challenges. Next month I will be doing a mixture of DDW's February challenge and Bobsbitz59's Technique challenge. With a holiday in the middle I know I won't be able to manage to combine both every day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.