They keep on rolling

Sat on the beach today for a couple of hours. In the almost 4k of sand there was no more then 20 people. Occasionally some who were walking from one end to the other came by but for most of the time it was just me, my hat and book.

The waves really thunder in and unless you are a very strong swimmer are difficult to cope with, especially the undertow. I had a bit of a go, as you do, but swimming has never been a strength. The water was lovely and cool though after the heat of the beach. It's a bit like swimming in the sea in the UK, it's OK 'once you are in'.

I'm reading a book on the Boer War, about which I knew bits and pieces but had never put it all together. It helps to understand the complexities of society here.

Currently sitting on the patio as the sun descends, glass of beer; what could be better?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.