It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Looking within is the 1st step

The prospect of a long day wasn't filling me with dread. In fact I was excited about a psychology webinar I had organised in the evening. Getting out of bed is always a challenge in winter, despite me being a morning person. The prospect of a bowl of porridge with fruit and honey generally helps though.

I spent some time tenderising my legs with a foam roller and manipulating my bum with a massage ball. Bust that fuzz, I though. Just time for a quick coffee and I jogged up to the train station. Alan the station master was in form as normal. I am sure he sucks the cheeriness out of the entire staff of Northern Rail as he's always happy and his colleagues are the biggest motley miserable git crew on earth! He always predicts where I'm travelling too based on how I dress. "Single to Guide Bridge Andy?" he asked as I was wearing running kit.

I alighted at Guide Bridge pleased that it was dry for a change and then headed to the canal path. I was feeling good so pushed hard, leaping the puddles and focused on running tall. The Canada geese are placid at this time of year and happily waddled out the way as I approached. They're mental creatures in spring! Arriving at work, Simon and Adam looked at me uncomprehendingly as sweat dripped off the end of my nose, eyes popping out my eyes like a UKIP councillor. Endorphins are sic! (I spent a day with teenagers last week so I'm down wit it lol, ffs).

The day was nuts, with an endless stream of 'must answer' emails and an increasingly large 'to-do' list. Better than being bored! The webinar was at 8pm and I had a few butterflies. The cleaner's routine was disrupted as I asked her not to hoover in her hoovering slot but she too that with good grace.

I linked up with Melissa in Colorado at the assigned time and introduced our main presenter Dr Jamie Barker from Staffs Uni'. It's weird being introduced by someone on the other side of the Atlantic but webinars are an amazing form of global communication. It seemed only yesterday when I purchased my first mobile phone, a see-through Bosch thing with orange trim. Jamie was superb, especially as it was his first webinar. Right on message and pitched at a level that I thought was ideal.

There was one moment when he said "Andy, what do you think" when I was in a daydream! Somehow, and with relief, I responded appropriately. How...I really don't know. We did run over a little, with Liz handing me a note as the boss had texted to say "wrap it up" right as we were wrapping it up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.