fotoflarewithclare

By tookie

Seahawk Superbowl Parade!!!

The 12th man was out it all their glory for the huge Seahawk's parade today. There were estimates of over 700,000 people out in celebration mode, and I was one of them:) I went downtown early with my dear friend Marilyn. Our combined years in age is 147 so I'd say pretty impressive for us "gals". Big R bought me some new long johns last night so I'd be able to withstand the single digit wind chill temps. Both Marilyn and I were decked out in winter attire and seahawk spirits. Actually we just really wanted to be a part of such a large and joyful community spirited joyful event for a change!

It was a blipper's haven---I included shots of family bystanders, Mariilyn at the start of the parade at 4th and Denny, 12 man flags , crowds up high, people climbing fences for higher viewing, people on buildings, even a pony all decked out. There were those with a banner saying they'd skipped school, and work and had reserved a hotel overnight! The "ride the ducks" vehicles were carrying the Seahawk players, I got hit in the head with a skittle thrown by Seahawk Marshawn Lynch which was really quite a hoot!! The Space needle had the 12 man flag atop it, a plane flew overhead following by a 12th man flag. Toddlers and testerone, families and flags, craziness and joy all mixed together in a peaceful fun celebratory parade...with even the police impressed with the politeness of the crowds.

Despite predicted traffic jams and overcrowded buses and transit, my friend and I planned accordingly and secured a close parking spot and had a good viewing place for the beginning of the parade. The car was close by so we could warm up prior to the beginning of it all as we had come down early. We left after the parade passed us by and got home safely and soundly---Big R had a bit more trouble riding the bus home after work as they were filled with lively fans. Quite the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.