Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Red Dragon

Identification - Orthetrum testaceum testaceum.

Good session again today, but opportunities missed, but that is normal for bug safaris. As I was shooting a macro, I heard a loud scream and lots of bush rustling to my left. I finished the shot and then looked, to find two squabbling otters. They vanished before I could even think about resetting the camera. At least now I know what the sound is, and I heard it a little later, further upstream, so there are at least two otter families here as there were last year.

Lots of good images to choose from. I liked this shot because of the wing and thorax detail, also the color co-ordination with the background was aesthetically pleasing and kept drawing me back to the image during the selection process.

Quite a few of these male dragons sparring over the paddy field. An indication that there might be some mating and egg laying opportunities coming soon.

When I remember, I am collecting detailed wing venation images, as a possible aid to matching some of the unknown species up, as the females are usually very different in coloration to the males.

The monopod has been noticeably tedious to use lately, then it occurred to me why. The sections were jamming, making extension awkward. I applied a thin coating of oil with some tissue, and then wiped it off, as I don’t want engine oil on my camera. What a difference, it is now better than new.

A couple of weeks ago, I lost the rubber foot off the end of the monopod. More tedium, as the pod kept sinking into the mud. However, the situation demanded some attention when it ripped a chunk of skin off my Achilles. Finally I taped a small coin to the base. Fixed, but my heel is going to take a bit longer.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.