MY EYES WERE DRAWN

when I walked back home to a tree just at the other side of the little brook. So full of red berries, I thought and then it dawned upon me that between the branches I saw three city parrots. One simply sat, the two others were eating of the berries.
To me this was a nice surprise. I had left at last our home, while it was more or less raining, and a strong wind blew too. Before three o'clock the rain would have left Holland, forecast had said.
I had walked to the Meer en Bos park, packed with bread and oat flakes.
I had looked around, wanting to find the bird of prey, not likely to see her/him between the dark branches. Fed the ducks and other waterbirds.
Had walked further, and when I came near our street, there was the surprise of the parrots.
I had not noticed yesteray, but Piet Hein had said to me, look at your picture of one year before, there is a picture of the parrots too.
So it is at this time of the year that they leave behind their shyness and stay low in the trees. In other seasons I hear and see them often, but pictures are out of the question then. I like these colourful birds.
The dark day ended without rain and with more light at 5 pm.

My haiku:

On a rainy day
When you are wet and feel sad
Look for some comfort

And the proverb:

Gedwongen liefde en waterverf gaan spoedig uit.

Translation: Forced love and watercolours will disappear soon.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.