Bequest

School nights out aren't really to be recommended. I went to sleep last night to R4 and woke up in the middle of the night, not to the World Service, but to schools' radio. Weird.

The office is very quiet this week. 3 of the team are in London, N is Newcastle, L is on holiday in Hamburg, C is ski-ing up north, and B doesn't work a Friday. So there were only 4 of us in today and it was lovely! Quiet. I got a lot of work done and a few appointments confirmed.

Then it was off for a walk in the sunshine, down to McDonald Road Library to observe S teach his ESOL class. He made me work as part of the group, absolutely right. It was interesting (3 sounds, not 4) to work with some new English learners, or is that new learners of English?

The room we use is the Nelson Room so named because it came in the bequest from Thomas Nelson. It is a great space for teaching and that continues the reasons why the money was gifted originally - places "to which persons of the working class and others can go to sit, read, write, converse and otherwise occupy themselves". More about the Nelsons here.

After my time in the class I came home to work. No point in sitting in my office alone, eyeing up the biscuits and the sun was still shining.

It's been a productive working afternoon and when #2 son came home he put back up the fallen down curtain, with a little help from me. That WAS nearly Wednesday's blip. He ran home from work today as part of his Marathon training and is now off to get his beard died green - he lost a sporting wager. That may be tomorrow's blip!

I enjoyed sitting looking at my garden this afternoon while I tapped at the keys, with the sun shining on the orange berberis berries. I'm hoping it will be good tomorrow but the forecast isn't promising.

Wherever you are, have a good week-end.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.