Green, Green Grass of Home

Standing on the little bridge over River Chelmer as it flows across the old High Street in Chelmsford is one view that hasn't really changed since I moved away in 1997. The water was looking very green today, which is what initially prompted me to take the picture for DDW's February Alphabet Challenge (Day 7: the letter G) - but in the end, this view, and several others as I continued to walk around the town, shopping with Dad in old familiar places, childhood memories of Saturday afternoons 'down town' and then finishing with Dad taking me for my last Sainsbury's run of essential foodstuffs (Cheddar, strong cheddar, mature cheddar, Lee & Perrin's Worcester sauce, Pedigree senior small dog food sachets for Connie, tubs of instant onion gravy, plastic jar of Horseradish Sauce and ... more Cheddar) to take back to Istanbul on Sunday - and all of a sudden I am in nostalgia-land big time.

It isn't green, and it isn't grass, but it sure feels like home. (cue song!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.