Huh?

We need more practice with snow out here in the Pacific Northwest. I think the footprints are supposed to be IN the snow, not OF snow.

A most curious sight this morning which gave all of us at work a laugh. The only explanation we could come up with was that somebody had been out with a snow blower. This was very, very powdery snow, and there wasn’t much of it, so it wouldn’t have taken a lot of effort to blow it off the sidewalk, leaving the compacted prints.

Even funnier was the fact that, while I noticed this curiosity when walking into the courthouse this morning, I was busy snapping pictures of crows in trees. I didn’t take a picture of the footprints until my boss (who happens to be a very observant Judge) mentioned them adding “that would make a great blip”, at which point the light bulb went off in my head and I ran back outside with my camera.

Fortunately, I have a great group of friends who frequently give me nifty blip tips. This one was pretty obvious but I was so besotted by the crow I wasn’t thinking straight and it was a little embarrassing to admit that I never even thought of taking a picture. I did get a great crow shot though, but I suspect the snow prints will never happen again unless the exact conditions (cold temps, light powdery snow, snow blower, etc.) of this morning occur and I’m willing to bet the odds are not in favor of that happening again anytime soon. The snow that fell this morning was pretty much gone by noon except in shady spots and the weekend forecast is for warmer temperatures and maybe a little rain.

So much for winter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.