Gold

The discovery of the first payable gold in Australia in 1851 near Bathurst was attributed to Edward Hargraves. This sparked the Australian gold rush. However I was taught from a young age that although Hargraves organised the expedition and claimed all the credit and the £10,000 reward, the gold was actually found by Tom Lister and my great great uncles James and William Tom. It was several decades, unsuccessful court cases and submissions to Parliament before the latter received recognition of their involvement.

This ring is one of 5 made from the first gold nugget. It was handed down the family to me from the Tom brothers' sister, Helen - my great great grandmother.

My grandmother gave it to my grandfather when he went to the First World War. On the troop ship over to the war he lost the ring. He offered a 10 shilling reward and it was returned to him. I think it must be a lucky ring as despite being severely wounded and winning a Military Medal,  he (and the ring) survived several years on the western front. My grandmother died before I was born, but I was very close to my grandfather who lived with us for several years before he died in 1963.

The ring is inscribed on the inside with the words Australian Gold and the letters WS. (I don't know what they mean). My aunt, who handed it on to me, used to wear it continuously but I no longer do (except on special occasions) as the engravings on the outside are becoming worn. LARGE.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.