Tales of the Guig

By Guigphotography

365 #39 - Madelvic

From Madelvic Square, Edinburgh.
This is the oldest surviving car factory in the UK. It was originally home to the Madelvic Motor Carriage Company who made (I'm told) the first electric cars in the world. That was in the late 1890s when the idea didn't take on, the company went bankrupt and was taken over in 1900 by the Kingsburgh Motor Company and later by Stirlings Motor Carriages.
United Wire bought and used the buildings from 1925 to 2001 and they're now in possession of Waterfront Edinburgh Limited. I'm not sure what the current plan is but I was pleased to learn that the buildings are on the Buildings at Risk Register.
Shots are a bit limited by the surrounding fences but I took quite a few today and am looking forward to working on them and sharing them elsewhere.
At the moment I think this will also be my Urban Decay shot for this weeks theme challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.