THE YOUNG HERON

I saw in the Vondelpark in Amsterdam.
I travelled early in the day by train to Amsterdam. Some time ago Look, See, Click, had announced that she would visit there for some days and I had suggested that we could meet perhaps. She had liked the idea and our plan was to meet at the Stedelijk Museum at 1 pm. today. Random bits & pieces would join us too.
I was a bit nervous yesterday lying in bed, thinking about how we would recognize each other, but it happened to be easy enough.
As soon as I entered the cafe a woman pointed and waved to me and a joyous meeting started. That is so wonderful of Blipland we are friends before we even meet and we each love to tell and listen to our stories. Roland, Look's husband, was amused by our talk about how we take pictures and what sometimes strange adventures we deal with.
We parted in a very good mood, they were going to visit the Van Gogh Museum and I walked for a while through the Stedelijk Museum (I had not been there since a long time) and from there I went to the Vondelpark.
I liked it a lot to walk the paths, look around, it was constantly full of persons, who cycled or walked there, had there dogs enjoying themselves, etc.
At one of the ponds I saw two herons stand there, liking to eat with what the ducks and gulls got.
One heron a bit old, the one of my picture fairly young.
When I returned home Mischa was at the phone, could she come over, tell us her adventures of the last days and share our meal. Of course she could and we listened to her enthusiastic telling. At one moment Piet Hein snoozed away and later I too, tired as I was of my day.
I will catch up tomorrow with all my friends journals, tonight I'll sleep early, at least a bit earlier than at other days.

My haiku:

Their long necks invite
To contemplate their behaviour
So strange in our eyes

And the proverb:

Beter verkocht en berouwen, dan gehouden en berouwen.

Translation: Better sold and regretted, than kept and regretted.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.