Treasure Everywhere

By RobT

100 Strangers #7: Michelle

I went to an indoor car boot sale at Pickering Memorial Hall today, to see if I could get some shots for a photography degree exercise. This is Michelle, the very friendly and smiley lady who served me a cup of coffee and a bacon butty. She described her hair colour as her midlife crisis :-)

We had a chat and she asked if I'd take some photos of the car boot sale for the Memorial Hall website. I duly obliged, and got some good shots for the assignment too – win/win :-)

This one may slightly stretch the definition of stranger... I think I may have seen Michelle around town before? But never stopped to talk. Hey, I live in a small town and genuine never-before-seen strangers are hard to come by at this time of year!

Technical notes: I didn't have the best lens with me, I'd taken a couple of zooms to give me flexibility on the assignment... not expecting to get any portrait opportunities I left my good primes at home... and shooting indoors meant I had the ISO cranked up so it's a bit noisy. After the event I did realise that I could have opened up the aperture wider. Note to self: always check your settings!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.