Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The coal hole

This was to be an easy day but it started with Mum's car breaking down about 1/4 mile from home. I went to rescue her and limped the car home. It seems as though one wheel isn't turning - how bizarre is that - and it may be a terminal event. We shall find out tomorrow.

A lovely lunch with friends and I drank my first alcohol for 3 months. So far, no ill effects!

On the way home I spotted this multicoloured door on a coal house. In days of yore, the coal man opened the sacks of coal into the coal house from the back lane. The residents opened a door on the other side to access the coal.

I see that a blow torch to remove the paint has never been employed here. One owner even tried to match the colour of the lichens on the wall! The lintel suggests that the construction was made to last.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.