NOT SO INVITING

the weather looked in the morning, dark sky, rain, wind if not storm.
A bit lazy I was too.
But at some point I walked to the pond, knowing that there had to be a try for a picture outside. I carried oatflakes with me, no umbrella that could break or fly away. When I arrived there I saw Marylene giving a lot of oats to the coots, the swans and whoever liked to taste it.
I swiftly went to her and on my question if she knew where the father of the four young ones was, she answered that he was at Madestein and had found a new love.
And also that the one who had taken his female (the mother of the young ones) came now and then visiting the pond, but till now had not done harm at all.
The good news was that there was now an agreement that the agressive swan would be transfered at some moment to a big polder, but when that would happen was not known.
A lot to take in for me. I stayed a rather long time at the shore of the pond and found some moving scenes, not caring very much about my settings of the camera. It was my task not to be blown away, my fingers not turning too cold.
I followed the jackdaw (it is not a crow as I had wrote at first), as she hang in the air, almost without movement and she became my choice, as Mischa suggested it was the best of the day.
In the afternoon while Piet Hein had gone to the beach, I watched a movie on TV, an old one (1960) starring Shirley MacLaine and Jack Lemon: The apartment.
Mischa came to dinner, I had promised to make a recipe from the vegan cookbook.
Time is flying when she is here.
I am behind with looking at your pictures and commenting, I know all to well, but I'll do my best to catch up, now and tomorrow.

My haiku:

They gather around
Me not to be told a story
But for the oatflakes

And the proverb:

Hij/Zij weet van toeten noch blazen.

This is one that in my youth was still used.

Translation: He/She does not know about hooting nor blowing.






Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.