Cr055ie

By Cr055ie

Ticklepenny Lock, Willow Lock and the Louth Canal

Well another good day for finding new photography sites, just not brilliant for photographs.

A colleague told me about a hide in a village quite near to where I live. I wasn't expecting anything out of the ordinary, a small pool perhaps. How wrong could I be? The site is amazing, Lots of different walks and the hide overlooking a huge lake and wetlands. More place saved to memory for the summer.

Then Charlie got a walk down the old Louth Canal from Ticklepenny Lock, named after the Ticklepenny family who were smallholders and lock-keepers and lived in a house close by down past Willow Lock almost to Salterfen Lock. The photograph is of Willow Lock a barrel sided lock with eight sections. This design was able to withhold much greater pressure from surrounding movement in the soil. The design is unique to The Louth Navigation and Willows Lock is the best remaining example.

Overall a great day was had by all, and I have learnt a little more about the beautiful area I love in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.