Our Journey is a process

By journeysprocess

Float Plane

It was another dreary day, and decided to go wander around one of the large sporting goods stores, Scheels. This float plane was hanging from the ceiling and I knew that I had to share it in tonight’s blip. It brought back some wonderful memoriees.

Many years ago, I spent a significant amount of time in Alaska for the company that I worked for. I would fly into Juneau or Anchorage, then transfer to either a float plane - a newer version of this one - or helicopter depending upon where I was going. When I worked in the field, it was long hours and hard work. I remember one trip where I was flew over to Admiralty Island in a float plane. We landed on one of the many freshwater lakes. During the summer, the sun didn't go down until midnight, so several of us would go fishing on the “river” that flowed between the lakes. It was great fishing. Each time I would cast, I would catch a fish. One night, after we had caught a a dozen fish , we noticed several Alaskan Brown Bear (very similar to Grizzley bear) just upriver from us and moving towards us at a casual saunter. We decided it would be easier to just leave the fish to the bear than have them come after us.

I hope you have all had a great weekend, and that you will have a wonderful week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.