MY FRIEND THE PHEASANT

In the morning it was still dark, but after lunch the sky became much lighter and I cycled to the Madestein park with several ideas in my head.
One: have a second look at the snowdrop fields.
Two: see if the grebe couples were preparing to get new off-spring
Three: look if I could find the father swan who had left his four children and found a new female for the rest of his life.
Four: take oat flakes with me for the coots &
Five: enjoying the spring-like weather.

When I arrived at the large pond I just saw how the canadian geese had finished their love game, in the middle of the water.
The coots came running over the water towards me, they love oat flakes obviously.
I saw only three young swans (of the six, but later I found the other ones just around the corner).
The grebe pair that lives there too, I adored in how they looked thoroughly in each other eyes.
I followed them in the direction of their course and I saw the vast fiels of snowdrops at the other end of the bridge, between the trees.
I love snowdrops, but they do not love the camera, or least not mine, yet.
When I stood there and tried to take pictures, a pheasant came down from a low slope. Wow, that's amazing, I thought, that is a huge opportunity.
But stay calm, and freeze and take pictures. The pheasant, however, was not intimidated by me. He stood and watched and listened to my clicks, and did not fled away when I came nearer and bended and kept taking pictures.
Very special moments I experienced there. A lot to do at home, of course, choosing etc.

My haiku:

Pleasantly coloured
The pheasant is, he does not
Know it, but I do

And the proverb:

Een hond aan een been, kent geen vrienden.

Translation: A dog with a bone, does not know friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.