27

By melanie27

15

Monday night. This was my first attempt at making Tex-Mex food. Mexican food is a big deal in Houston. I've grown up eating cheese enchiladas. And I kind of have a rule about ONLY eating Tex-Mex IN Texas (it's just not as good in other states).

I got the enchilada recipe from Homesick Texan's blog. The Spanish rice recipe is super easy. You basically mix some salsa into white rice and it's really delicious. I experimented with the refried beans - I heated up a can of pinto beans and then used a potato masher to turn them into "refried beans" (I also added some butter and seasonings).

I don't what exactly inspired me to make my own Mexican food since there are innumerable Mexican restaurants in this city. But it was delicious! Well worth the effort. And, hey, if I ever move out of the state of Texas, I'll be able to make my own enchiladas.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.