Ingeborg

By Ingeborg

Chinese ricebowl

Yesterday I went to the Affordable Art Fair in Brussels. Very inspiring to see lots of photography and photography based mixed media art amongst the works for sale.
I've always loved realistic still life paintings and there was one painter who had several wonderful paintings of mainly blue and white porcelain. If you browse through my album made yesterday you'll find the one by Sasja Wagenaar that inspired me to compose something slightly similar for today's Blip. It did help that I have some of my grandmother's blue, white and red rice bowls, very similar to the one in the painting. I don't have any black lacquer surface with golden herons, but I do have a black painted wooden bucket with lid with flowers and butterflies. And an obliging early morning sun to give some side light and light up the rice grain transparent spots in the bowl (yes, those are actual rice grains baked into the clay of the bowl). That sun has gone again, alas. But at least we don't have all the awful rain and floods that are ravaging parts of the UK :-(

Thanks so very much for all the comments and stars for yesterday's child self portrait , obviously I can't take the photo credit for it ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.