Jake's Journal

By jakethreadgould

The aftermath

I'm not sure if it's been on the UK news at all (seeing as I can't access any of that here), but today saw celebrations marking the 35th anniversary of the revolution in Iran. Tens of thousands were reported to have filled Tehran's Azadi square, where they were addressed by Rouhani. It was marked by many in Tabriz, too.

I knew this day was coming, and the streets have been adorned with flags and posters since the beginning of February in preparation. As you can imagine, I was excited at the opportunity to photograph this event. Nothing tantalises my camera more than a mob of rowdy people. But today I decided to err on the side of caution.

I'd had been given mixed advice as to what the safety situation might be if I photographed the event. I would be in no harm from the people, let me make that clear. Yet, many official photographers get press permits from their embassy, I, on the other hand, have no embassy here. I'm a lone wolf.

Hypothetically speaking, then, I could have been absolutely fine taking pictures during the rally. Equally I could have attracted unwanted attention from one of the police forces; suspicious of my motives. So I decided instead to go sort out my bus for tomorrow, how mundane.

I can describe the scene for you though.

It was a helicopter that woke me up, flying right over the hotel. And as I came to I discerned a collective chant in response to a guy with a megaphone. I stood for a while outside the hotel door and watched the people parade by, who in turn watched me with a curious, yet, determined look.

Flags, pictures of Khomeini, and cardboard placards with "Down With The U.S.A" or "Down With Israel" or "We Will Stand Up Until The End" topped the parade of leather jackets and black chadors. Young guys walked with confidence, taking in their surroundings, bolstered, it seemed, by the air of collectivity which legitimised their principals. Children with face paint and colourful balloons contrasted with the dark mass of adults.

It was all over by midday (i.e by the time I'd got the bus station and back), and the street cleaners were quick to work, sweeping up the forgotten slogans and leaflets.

Further clarification: as I've previously mentioned I'm very cautious about the message my images might convey, and I'd like to just reiterate that I have not uploaded this to depict Iran or Iranians as dangerous, or whatever, nothing could be further from the truth. Think of it as just... things what I see, or, thoughts what I 'ave.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.