Orange Acorn Banksia

The clouds rolled in overnight and when I got up this morning I thought we were definitely in for some rain! By the time breakfast was over most of the cloud had gone and not a single drop fell on Perth!

I shouldn't complain too much as the weather has been cooler than normal and we haven't had a heat wave for a while in the west so I'd better just be content with that!

Toto and I had a long walk before work and along the way we found this beautiful Orange Banksia tree coming into bloom (also known as the Acorn Banksia). This banksia flower starts off mostly white and then gradually from the bottom up the white segments bloom into little orange flowers.

This tree is native to the south west of Western Australia and honey eaters love it! I think it looks a little bit like it's been knitted with Angora wool! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.