tempus fugit

By ceridwen

Duck pond overflows!

We're used to high winds here in Pembrokeshire but today was exceptional as the coast was pounded by 100 mph winds and trees blew down, trains were stopped in their tracks and the lights went out over much of Wales, but not here.
The hens stayed under shelter all day but the ducks were out enjoying the extension to their pond. I didn't dare venture seawards as I could feel the gale lifting me off my feet.
Some stones fell from under the barn roof as a result of the roof flexing and a few shrubs were torn up but on the whole everything remains intact.
Now we have to brace ourselves for a new storm on Friday.

Much as I have sympathy for people suffering from flood water I must admit I did give a wry smile to see the headline "Military aid reaches Berkshire". The inhabitants of rural Somerset have been inundated for weeks but no sooner does the Thames creep across the trim riverside lawns of well-heeled suburbia than swarms of squaddies are drafted in to fill sandbags and rescue dogs. What on earth can it mean?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.