Pixel Smiths

By pixelsmiths

Brakes

Front brakes one of my bikes was not functioning, so off to the shop today for a repair. I thought honestly it was just a bleed …

But no, stuck piston, not worth repairing, we’ll replace it. OK, not thinking too much about it.

Upon picking up, I see the cheapest Shimano brake there is, and that was $130. A quick look on Chain Reaction suggests I could have had XT for $60 pounds!

I am sure the brake will be fine, but it’s very low spec. Interestingly of course, they then discovered I was looking to buy a new bike, and gave me a few options. One option is pretty decent, a nice carbon fibre frame, but to be honest, if they are shorting me on the brakes, what are they doing on a bike worth vast sums more? Didn’t instil trust.

As a result, probably won’t buy with them. And honestly, I’ll probably replace the brake they gave me and take it back. And never take my bike back there.

I made a mistake, should have gone to my usual mechanics, honestly not sure why I didn’t …

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.