WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Composed

I have one of those birthdays that you only have once a decade tomorrow. So S decided to surprise me by taking me out to lunch today, only telling me half an hour before we needed to leave. He headed off in an unexpected direction, but it turned out he was only taking the scenic route to Le Parc.

It's one of those restaurants where the food doesn't necessarily look like food. It does taste delicious though, even if the presentation is just a tad over the top. This is smoked salmon with little sandwiches of celery remoulade; the black stripes are squid ink. Don't ask me how they made these little disks so precisely, or even what they were made of. The next course, served on a black plate, looked even odder. More conventional were the Bordier butter, and the tiny macarons served as a pre-dessert. But actually I think my favourite dish was the simplest: shot glasses of a foamy velouté of Jerusalem artichokes permeated with the flavour of some tiny cubes of foie gras buried in it, served as a mise en bouche. Definitely a flavour combination worth trying.

After that, I didn't feel particularly inclined to go back to work. Instead I had a nice cup of tea when we got home, and then snoozled on the sofa with Mystère. Not much activity planned for this evening either.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.