carliewired

By carliewired

My Backyard Hummer

Iridescent and
extremely active, a small
high-energy bird

~ carliewired

This little hummingbird has taken up residence in our orange tree recently. I think it is a female Rufous or Allen's hummingbird. (The two are so similar.) My clothesline sits between the orange tree and the feeder at the end of the awning. When I was hanging clothes on the line today, I seemed to be disturbing the hummingbird. They are known to be quite territorial. It came around the clothesline, buzzing and clicking near me. Then it would fly back to the orange tree to land on a top branch for a good lookout point. It did this repeatedly. I went back into the house for my camera. I returned to continue hanging up clothes with the camera around my neck. I managed to get some shots through the lines of my clothesline.

I'm not much better today. I will have some lemonade, two aspirin and go back to bed again. It's a shame to waste such a beautiful day. It's 82 degrees Fahrenheit at 2 PM.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.