Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

This is the only man still singing in the...

Sorry, this is most inappropriate with all the flooding in parts of the UK. Or is it appropriate? Can’t decide. But I rather like the poster, and I’ve never seen them putting up those huge posters before. Their boast of ‘12,000 litres of water at every performance’ is meant to entice us in?

I went right up to the back of a busy bus and sat in the back seat. There were two young folk, male and female and an older man on the other side. For some reason, I walked past the odd spare seat and squashed myself in the middle.

Both of the young folk had their feet up on the seat facing them. He had his legs up and she had her feet on the edge. On the window beside them is the notice “Do not put your feet up on the seat opposite’.

Before I could tell myself to ignore it and look out the other window for the whole journey, my hand shot out and tapped him and pointed to the sign. He looked up from his phone, then at the sign, and the two of them looked at each other, giggled, and went back to their phones. My hand pointed to the sign again. Words were exchanged between them. What words I do not know, and I suspect my delicate ears were best not hearing them.

However, they both put their feet down. They carried on an animated conversation, most of which I did not understand. Yes, it was in English. I did catch a few unsavoury phrases about his opinion of her mother.

As I was getting off, I said again, with a smile, not in a cantankerous old bag way, ‘Don’t be putting your feet up when I’m gone, now, will you?

He just glared at me. I had to wait at the front of the bus for it to stop. I know I shouldn’t have, but I did - I looked back. Yes, they both had their feet up again. They knew I was looking, but didn’t catch my eye.

I suppose it was a blessing he did not give me a cheery one or two fingered wave.

My sympathies are with those poor folk enduring the flooding.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.