Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Love Token

Valentines Day bought to mind a love token I inherited from my Nana - a glass love meter. This one was probably made in the 1920s or 1930s by my Grandfather. If you gently hold the lower bulb, the liquid travels up to the top bulb, spelling out the name Norah, my Nan's Christian name.

My Great Grandfather was a German immigrant originating from Thuringen, a renown glass blowing area of Germany. He lived and worked as a Scientific Glass Blower in Red Lion Square, Holborn, London from the 1890s, marrying an English girl who managed a local Coffee House. Grandfather was born in 1900, but died before I was born, and was also a Glass Blower in the business. Family legend has it that they were commissioned to provide some of the glassware for Queen Mary's Dolls House, held in Windsor Castle, but I have never been able to find proof of this.

My Grandfather made lots of bits and pieces for my Nan and his daughter, my Mum, but sadly we have vey few left due to their fragile nature, so this piece is quite precious - but I thought it made an apt subject for DDW's February 2014 Alphabet Challenge.

For Bobsbitz59's Technique Challenge, I have attempted to get some bokeh, using some christmas lights strung over a red blanket in the background.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.