Kangaroo

By Kangaroo

Windmill in the mist

Quoting from one of the news services for you... In the 24 hours to 9am (Central Daylight Time) on Friday [yesterday], Adelaide received 75.2mm of rain making it the city's wettest day in 45 years.

I returned from Adelaide on the bus today. The photo I have chosen for you here is out of more than 100 with just a few complete duds. This really is the image that has my heart. In these districts that at this time of the year are usually bereft of water and rain, the windmill is the key to the pump that keeps farm animals supplied with well and bore water. My eye caught view through the bus window of the windmill's partial outline.

There are still fires burning, but the welfare of the residents in the threatened areas has significantly improved and a number of firefighters were diverted to assist manage flooding in critical areas. A number of homes in Adelaide were inundated and some businesses.

My time in Adelaide was spent usefully although I was almost completely engaged with commitments to appointments with health services. All good. I will spend some time tomorrow catching up looking at journals and more news as the days go by. Thank you for your kind interest you have shown my journal, blipper friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.