LongDarkTeaTimeoftheSoul

By Nigel

Resignation Doughnut

Three more developers leave work this month. This is no doubt in response to 7 redundancies in January and the companies announcement to drop the Microsoft stack and switch to Unix, Java and Ruby. Having already dropped the aforementioned 7 staff, 5 of whom were developers, there seems to be an understandable reluctance to drop all of your C#/MSSQL experience and switch to a whole new programming environment. Still Ioannis was nice enough to buy us all some massive trays of doughnuts as he exited.

Work itself continues to be almost laughable. Our flagship product on which I am now developing (on the aforementioned Ruby/Java/Unix stack) has failed to work on my machine despite the efforts of four people over the past week. The final verdict being to bin the VM and start again from scratch. Not exactly encouraging.

So I buried myself in FIFA and wine for the evening, before scurrying my overly inebriated ass to bed before Jen came home.

My ride2work voucher has arrived, my bike will be ready to collect on Sunday, I'm so excited!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.