A new beginning

So. Tomorrow I start my new job in the postgraduate research support office at the University of East Anglia providing support to the admin team. It's full time, with a proper contract, a proper salary and located on a beautiful green campus about 15 mins cycle ride from where I live.

I've got the new haircut, clothes washed and ironed and a new notebook and pen. The reactions from my friends to this new job have been mixed, ranging from: 'that's brilliant! So pleased for you!' to 'Oh .... you could do so much better than that'. I prefer the first response.

I've done the managerial, strategic, people supervising, negotiating and wheeling and dealing, whizzing round the country and overseas stuff and whilst I enjoyed it at the time it was absolutely nackering and stressful beyond belief. I didn't realise how stressful until it stopped. That was in the job before last. My last job, the job I have just left, was in many aspects the perfect job. I loved it. But the money just wasn't there to pay my salary on a regular basis. That is the only reason I left, and I really hope things improve for them as they do fabulous work.

It's been fabulous to spend the last week or so in Amsterdam with Roland - back blips start here if you are interested - where we celebrated our 22nd wedding anniversary and I met a couple of other Blippers.




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.