An Unkindness of Ravens

By Nevermore

MonoMonday sky

Not to everyone's taste perhaps, but this long exposure was taken using my 'home made' welding glass ND filter. I bought a different strength to the last one I had (this is Grade 10, the last was a 12) and it is much clearer – the other grade must have had some sort of weird coating on it that made the image very speckly.

The welding glass filter is perfect for mono, as it has a ghastly green cast which is hard to remove from colour images. The elastic bands aren't good with this Nikon zoom lens though – the pressure on the front of the lens kept pushing it back in, so I couldn't use the lens at anything but the one focal length. I have bought some cheap cokin filter adapters that I'm going to glue the glass to, which will fix that problem. I'll have to trim the glass down though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.