Mono Monday # 4 ~ A Page in Time.

My mum made a photo album for me, where photos were added through my growing years, from my Christening at one month of age, through to the age of sixteen. The album is rather tattered now, but still a treasured memento of the family and friends from my early years.

Last Monday, my nephew celebrated a special birthday, and featured with his mum in my Mono Monday blip, (hosted by Paladian) so continuing the theme of my "Aquarian" relatives, today is the turn of my sister again, as yesterday she would have celebrated her seventy-second birthday.


This photo is on a page of my "baby" album. At first I had planned on taking a photo of the photo, cropping it, and adding just the photo, but seeing the shot on the screen I decided to show the whole photo, including the spiral, which (barely) holds the worn pages together, and the original old fashioned photo corners.

Anne was my eldest sister and old enough to be my mother, so many times throughout my growing years her role in my life was doubled, in that she could be called upon for both sisterly and motherly advise. First and foremost though, she was my friend.

I think I was about two when this photo was taken. I don't remember the day, but we lived in this house at Valley Heights on the Blue Mountains until I was nine, and I remember the curtains behind Anne and I in the photo being deep red crushed velvet.

I have happy memories of my time living in this house, perhaps that's why I still love deep red crushed velvet! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.