Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

80 and 60

My dear friend Alma turned 80 today. She is like my second mother. This is her son, Bryan.

Five years ago, Alma, being the wonderful, thoughtful person she is, decided to celebrate my 60th birthday at one of my club's open meetings. She had a cake made with Happy 60th Birthday, Laurie on it and a Happy 60th Birthday card, signed by everyone for me.

She got up to the microphone and gave a speech about how birthdays that end in zeros are milestones and mark, not the end of something, but the beginning of new adventures in your life.

I didn't have the heart to tell her that I was turning 54.

Two years later, a group of us were in a car and we were talking about the years of our birth. I blurted out that I was born in 1954. Alma did the math. She was so embarrassed and exasperated with me!

Long story short(er), she has promised to throw me a huge 60th birthday party this August when I actually do turn sixty!

What a sweetheart.
Happy birthday, Alma! May you live to be 100!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.