The Roundup!

Today we drove from the Pacific coast 4 hours back to San Jose. The Costa Rican west is hot dry land and primarily ranch land. Along the way we encountered this cowboy moving his herd down the road, cows, dust and all.

We also saw a funeral procession marching down the street, similar to the New Orleans tradition. The car carrying the deceased surrounded by many men, but also women and children, walking, some with bicycles, mostly with sad, determined faces in the hot sun and heat of the morning, the brass band playing a funeral dirge. Quite emotional. I did manage a thru-the-window snap. Couldn't help it! I haven't yet figured out how to link my images to flickr from my pad, but hopefully I will add some shots to a set soon.

We will arrive home late tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.