My Life in A&E

By gilvratina

So here in Munich there are great recycling facilities. (I guess that's actually kind of true in Edinburgh too, although I am not completely sure about the food waste bins on the street and have speculated (ad nauseam, my husband would say) about a potential increase in rats. Never seen one in Ed, I don't think, yet we were entertained by one in Munich last summer as we ate outside at a local restaurant. So maybe the position of your food waste bins means nothing. (Our food waste bin is at the back of the house in the "garden".)

Anyway, after my initial wonder at german recycling, I was rather alarmed to hear that after we have separated the recycling and put all the plastic together, they take it to a big furnace with a massive charcoal filter and burn it. I felt a bit disappointed, truth be told. I kind of expected it to be turned into......zimmer frames for the elderly, pencils for underprivileged children or some other such worthy project.

But no.

Anyway, rant over. This lot of recycling goes out tomorrow.....maybe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.