Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

Down amongst the Grasses

When I drive over to the shop of a morning to buy my newspaper, I nearly always take my bridge camera with me just in case I see anything worth blipping. That is other than most days this year as its simply been too wet and cloudy to bother. However, with some slight improvements in the weather and better light, the camera is again travelling with me.

I had only driven a short distance when I clocked this Heron in amongst the rashes in boggy ground in the field behind our house. It had caught something and was in no rush to fly off, which they normally do here as soon as they see you. It was pecking away at whatever it had caught (probably a frog) as I got the camera out of its case. By the time I got it in focus it was keeping a beady eye on me and had stopped feeding. I got a few blips before some people approached and it flew off.

The morning turned out to be the best part of the day with wind and rain returning yet again before lunch!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.