By Himself

By Himself

Cupressus macrocarpa RIP

I am told this is a Cupressus macrocarpa - it's the other side of the root-bole I blipped HERE after I managed to cut the trunk.

I was hoping the root-bole would sit back into the crater it left - it did and it didn't so it looks as if we will need some serious lifting power to get it right.

I asked a boat-building neighbour if he wanted the timber but no, it's too knotty unfortunately so I have to do the work myself. He also informed me that the cut you see here was 'very badly done'. He's probably right but lumber jacking is not my first profession and the larger chain saw I borrowed from another neighbour was damn heavy.

The last branches are going to be difficult. They are hanging over a deep muddy ditch (called a 'drain' here) and I am waiting for a calm day to cut them because the whole thing has become unstable in the wind which is now getting up again.

In four years we will have some firewood - cyprus needs a long time to season so I'm told.

Entries for the most accurate estimate of the tree's age now being accepted!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.