Paul

By raul

Guns and Crampons

Today I shot a gun for the first time.

I invited my friends to go to the range and for about 30 minutes we blasted away some targets. We used a variety of handguns and either 9mm or .45 ACP ammunition. I shot the Glock 21, H&K USP, Taurus (don't remember the model number), and Beretta M9.

My motivation for shooting was to learn how to load, clear, and safely operate the weapons and also to find out how easy it is to shoot accurately.
The pistols are very easy to load and using them for a few minutes put away any anxiety I had. Shooting accurately is also not as difficult. With some weapons I had trouble getting on target but with others I had quite consistent groupings.

After this we used a shotgun but I did not enjoy this as much. I was not allowed to load or investigate the operation, just to aim and shoot it. That is half the fun for me. ;)

This target only has a few holes from me, notably the big holes near the head from the shotgun. :) We did not have our own targets but shared them between different pistols at the various boxes in the range.

Pictured below is a pair of aluminum crampons that I bought for $15 at a flea market after the shooting. I couldn't believe it! The straps are in great condition and the points are sharpened too! I was so happy to find them I totally forgot to barter with the salesman. For $15 this is a steal!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.