ANOTHER GLORIOUS SPRING DAY

and after cared for the birds, I cycled first to Herstelle and followed my way along the Weser to Beverungen. This cycle path lies upon the other side of the river than I took yesterday. It is mainly in the shadow, but I like the different view on has.
I saw a tree full of cormorants, sitting on the bare branches. When I stopped to have a better look, all the birds flew away except one, who obviously was the brave one, who did not liked to be disturbed.
A great white heron who stood on the shore, flew to the other safe side of the river, and kept leading the way, when I came too near.
In Beverungen I gave the goats some carrots and apple pieces again and found my blip for today there too. A majestic turkey's head.
My intention was to cycle to Dalhausen, because the path in that direction is one of my favourites. It follows the river Bever, more a brook perhaps.
In Dalhausen I looked around a bit and when I started to return I saw these two yellow butterflies, whirling together in the air.
When someone would ask me, why did you go to Dalhausen? I would answer to see the two yellow butterflies. But the strange thing was that when I came back in our street there they were: two yellow butterflies, whirling in exactly the same way.
I returned and took the same path back (there is no other one) and it is a nice surprise to discover (although one could know it beforehand of course) that the path goes down, one hardly has to pedal.

My haiku:

Two times two makes four
Yellow butterflies they did
Me think of summer

And the proverb:

She/He knows on which side her/his bread is buttered.

1546 in J. Heywood, A Dialogue containing....the Proverbs in the English Tongue







Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.