Farewell

This evening I sold my car. It didn't go completely smoothly, but we got there in the end!

I am very sad to see it go.

I bought it in a different life - before I was married, when I was in employment, when I lived in Cambridgeshire. I had it from new, and now it's done about 125,000 miles, nearly all of them with me at the wheel. It drove me to Edinburgh to see friends, and later to move here. On holiday, to look at wedding venues, to my wedding, to funerals. It's been a constant in a changing world - a safe, comfortable place for me. I miss it already!

This is, of course, ridiculous sentimentality. I know that. But the way I remember is often linked to things, places or pictures. They remind me of things. I suppose I'm worried that if I let the car go, I'll lose the memories.

Also it was an AWESOME car and I worry that I'll never have one as good again. Hopefully I will be proved wrong in 12 days when I pick up the new one...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.