54stairs

By MarnieL

Visiting home

It was an early morning today as I had to finish packing and tidying the house. In addition to carrying my bike up 54 stairs to store it inside while I am away, I had to control the downward momentum of a 50 pound suitcase on 54 stairs without losing my balance. The bike was a piece of cake!

What a wonderful welcome home! My parents from Saskatchewan met me at the airport and then a nice limo driver drove my Mom and me to my place so we didn’t have to contend with driving in a blizzard.

My Dad went to my brother’s place for the night. On Friday and Saturday, he will judge the Gale Moot, a nation-wide competition for law students that is sponsored by the Canadian Bar Association. The students spend one or two semesters preparing and competing for the opportunity to represent their law school. They will argue a case, usually a criminal constitutional matter, in simulated court proceedings. Judges come from all over the country, so the students are well prepared to impress and they compete fiercely. My Dad has been volunteering for many years and enjoys both working with the students and seeing his colleagues at this yearly event.

This is the snowy view from the plane on the descent into Toronto's Pearson International Airport.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.