EARLY AWAKENING

and almost directly working in the garden. Yesterday I had started for an hour and now I have a kind of schedule in my mind for the the days of this week.
My job is to remove the thick layers of oak leaves that smother the bulbs and plants beneath. In winter those leaves certainly help the earth to stay warm (I guess) but now I want to see my snowdrops and crocusses and the plants to will soon appear too.
When we were at the garden center in Beverungen last week I was pleased to find there some winteraconites. I bought a little pot, there was only one with healthy plants in it.
When I had removed at a place the leaves I found to my big surprise an aconite plant with one tiny flower, and later two or three more. It had been perhaps three years ago that I had bought in Osnabrück in a hurry some plants, but I had never be able to spot them since.
After lunch I walked to the Weser and from there to the horses at the Eisenbahnerheim, they eagerly ate the carrots and apples. Walking around the site I discovered an amazing big field of snowdrops in a garden where persons can grow vegetables and the like. I immediately felt so envious, an horrible feeling of course. I want a field, I want a field too, I screamed inwardly. Next year I will buy 1000 bulbs and have such a field of snowdrops for myself.
Later on my walk I calmed down and knew that seeing that field was a marvellous present in itself. And when I walked down along the cemetry where in a little forest grow a lot of snowdrops I resisted the impulse to dig out some of them.
Why not be patient? In ten years you will have a nice field as well.
I can go tomorrow back to the snowdrop field and make another picture.
The image shown I saw on a wall near the river and the sunlight gave it the magic I love.

My haiku:

To be a snowdrop
In the largest field I know
One of the many

And the proverb:

Envy never enriched any woman/man.

1616 in T. Draxe, Bibliotheca Scholastica.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.